10% Off for First Order Subscribe NOW

Free Shipping on Orders Over $249


What is A5, A4??? (Grading System)

What is A5, A4??? (Grading System)

In order to ensure fair trading, Japanese Wagyu Beef is graded on the basis of the yield and meat quality grade.
The yield grade refers to the ratio of meat to the total weight of the carcass, and is classified into 3 grades from A to C, with A providing the highest yield. The meat quality grade is classified into five grades from 1 to 5, based on four criteria: fat marbling; the color and brightness of the meat; its firmness and texture; and the color and brightness of the fat. The lowest of the four individual grades becomes the final grade allocated to the meat.
A thorough grading system of 15 grades (using a combination of the two above-mentioned elements) ensures a clear indication of Japanese Wagyu Beef quality and yield grade.



Beef Grading Scales

Around the world, beef is graded into different classifications deeming its quality. Marbling, also known as Intramuscular Fat (IMF), is a critical Measurement factor in the US and Japan.